Weekly Photo Challenge: Thankful

Image

There are many things that I am thankful for.  I have pondered them all after I read this week’s photo challenge. Thankful, there are so many things that I could have written a whole post about. Yet as I flicked through photos for some ideas I came across some photos I took of some fireworks in March. I just LOVE fireworks!  I am thankful that despite how I may feel some days, there I always that light that shines deep within my spirit. That no matter how dark this year has seemed at times, there still remains hope.

The thing is, when you are in the middle of a low period everything seems dark. Events and things that normally make your heart glad go unnoticed and unrecognised. Darkness is dense, it’s lies of aloneness and unworthiness are formidable. J.R.R Tolkien brings darkness into The Lord of the Rings in many ways, yet for me it is Shelob’s Lair that describes it all to well:

 “They walked as it were in a black vapour wrought of veritable darkness itself that, as it was breathed bought blindness not only to the eyes but to the mind, so that even the memory of colours and of forms and of any light faded out of thought.” (The Two Towers)

Frodo and Sam felt lost and suffocated until Sam remembered the light of Earendil that had been gifted to Frodo. In the midst of that blackness, light overwhelmed the dark. The light also brought hope and courage to the two. As a Christian, I carry the light of Christ. It is this light that enables me to see the things that I am thankful for. The light of Christ that illumines the darkness to reveal what monsters lurk beneath so that they can be defeated forever. It is this light that gives me hope, it gives me courage and urges me on despite the lies that may whisper in the night. This light also illuminates the blessings and beauty within and around me so that I can see that I am not alone. It shines upon that which I am thankful for. Light can never be defeated by dark.

“The light shines in the darkness, and the darkness can never extinguish it.” (John 1:5)

 Thanks for reading. Thanks for following. I would love to hear of your stories and journeys in this world. I pray that my blog brings a little light into your world too.

Love,

Sara xo

Leave a Reply

