Weekly Photo Challenge: Foreign

A year ago I went on the adventure of a life time. Well, of my life time. It was the first time I’d ever been overseas and it was amazing and yet terrifying. Mind you, I did travel to the other side of the world. I went to Ghana, Africa with a 24 hour layover in Bangkok, Thailand. We packed as much as we could into our waking hours in Bangkok!

 Everything was different. I was so overwhelmed with the new information being absorbed and processed by my brain. I felt like a computer that had too many programs and internet pages running. The new sights, smells, sounds, textures and experiences were amazing and yet provided more stimulus for my brain to process. I mean, even the plants were different. I think this is what culture shock feels like.

What I learnt from this experience, is that we can become so trapped in familiarity. That routine and comfort can bind us into a small world. Culture shock stretched me, made me grow. New experience and an entirely foreign place can break down walls within us. I long to visit more places, to see more of this world. To be stretched, shocked and grow even further.

Swampy River, Thailand

Leave a Reply

