10 Days of Gratefulness: Day 7 – Our Family

I live in the suburbs of Melbourne and my family live 3 hours away in the country. I am blessed to have friends that have become family to fill the empty

All five of the Logan kids, a sister in law and the kiddies.

 

pieces that this distance creates. Yet my biological family aren’t too bad either. I appreciate and am thankful for them today. I am pretty fortunate to be able to say this, I love my family and know of others that have little, none and difficult contact with their families. Over the past few years, our family has started to grow closer. It’s a beautiful thing to experience and I am incredibly thankful for it.

With five of us siblings there can be interesting dynamics. It hasn’t always been easy but I have discovered over the years that I actually like my siblings! Now that is a miracle! I don’t just love them because I have to, but I enjoy spending time with them. I’m enjoying getting to know them more as the years go on. We are all quite different, yet we have core values that are strong within each five of us. Family is important to each and every one of us. Despite the tumultuous years, the fights and the distance, we each hold family as one of the most important things in our lives. We’re all helpers, people who care for those around us in different ways.

The sisters, the parents, a niece, a nephew, a couple of cousins, an aunt and of course, me!
I love crazy family photos, they are my favourite!
August 2010

I’m also blessed with cousins that are friends. Throughout our childhood, our extended family were close knit. Each and every Christmas, New Year, Easter, Mother’s Day we would all gather at my Nana’s place. School holidays were spent at each others houses or a few of us at Nan’s. These days the bond is still there and some of my cousins are some of my closest friends. We are scattered throughout Victoria and one in Queensland so we don’t get to see each other much. I love catching up though, reminiscing about the old days and laughing about now.

Finally, saving the best until last – my Mum and Dad who are two gentle and loving individuals. From them I have inherited compassion, empathy, kindness and a love of children that will never leave me. These two love their five kids and grandkids deeply. I am so deeply thankful for them.

None of us is perfect, but that is the beauty of it.

Love,

Sara xoxox

 

Mum, Dad and I

 

 

Leave a Reply

