10 Days of Gratefulness: Day 6 – My Job

I am one of those fortunate people that loves their job. I mean really loves their job. I’ve worked in the disability field as a support worker for adults with disabilities for almost 10 years. During that time I have worked with many individuals with a wide range of both physical and intellectual disabilities. In October last year I was asked if I’d like a permanent part time position in a residential house that I’d been doing a couple of casual shifts at. I didn’t think about it too much before I said yes. The hours allow me to study at Bible College, it will also mean when I go back into ministry I will have time for that as well. I have a job that will provide financially for me and also allow me to do other things.

They’re not the the only reasons I love my job. Our boss is one of the most amazing people that I have worked under. She constantly encourages and empowers us to do our role. Thanks is a word that we hear from her constantly. My other two co-workers both genuinely care for the people that we support. The four of us are a great team who work together amazingly. We all genuinely like each other even though it is just work. We support 5 ladies with intellectual disabilities who are quite independent in their day to day lives, yet they come with some challenges. In some ways our job is easy, in other ways it is hard!

I love it, I love being a part of empowering vulnerable people to simply live their life the way that they want and not how they are told to. I love the challenging moments where someone is voicing their rights. I love getting to know my clients more and more each day. People often comment that I’m not in ministry at the moment and yet God has me being his hands and feet each shift that I do (and of course in other ways, but that is another blog!).

Love
Sara xoxo

p.s I also live on the same street as my work, fairly handy!

2 thoughts on “10 Days of Gratefulness: Day 6 – My Job

  1. How can people say that you are not in the ministry? Working with individuals with disabilities in a ministry itself. By sharing your good vibes and encouragement with others, you are doing exactly what Jesus would do. Keep up the good work!

    • Thanks 🙂 I think it’s a simple case of lack of understanding of what I do. That combined with having been in formal ministry for about 4-5 years and now I am not. It used to frustrate me, but I am content that I am doing His work. Love it!
      You sound like a super mum… 5 kids with disabilities! Wow! I bet it’s tough and yet rewarding.

Leave a Reply

