10 Days of Gratefulness: Day 5 – Being Aunty Sara a.k.a Sair Bear

Today I am grateful for being Aunty Sara a.k.a Sair Bear! I’m not doing my 10 days in any particular order of importance, but if I did, this one would be in the top 5 somewhere. Kids is my thing. It always has been for as long as I can remember. By the time I was 12 I had a regular babysitting job and then others throughout my teens. Kids love me, even when I don’t particularly like them, they like me.

Just over 5 years ago a little boy was born. For the first time ever I became an aunty. Then in 2009 a niece was born, little Jewel is now 3. Last year it was  just as exciting to welcome two more nieces – Xavi in August then Cienna in October. My circle of nieces and nephews extends outwards to include little Levi, my bestie’s little boy and little Sarah who is my mini house mate.  I’ve loved kids all my life, yet becoming an aunty deeply instilled within me the privilege it is to walk with a child through their life.  To love them, speak over their lives in my private prayers and encourage them with words. In studying Children’s Ministry, one of the most (if not THE most) important part of growing a child’s faith is the adults around them.  It is through these relationships that they learn what the love of God looks like, what it means to be a part of a faith filled community and what loving God looks like. What an amazing responsibility and honour to have these little people around me.

I love them all to bits! I love how different they all are, how a personality and their uniqueness shines through at such a young age. They inspire me to be a better person, to become more like Christ so that I can love them even more. I am thankful for their parents too, who allow me such an big influence in their precious children’s lives. I am thankful that family is so important to my siblings, that they allow me to be involved in their kids lives.

Love,

Sara xoxox

Leave a Reply

