10 Days of Gratefulness: Day 4 – Creativity

Hmmm… exactly one week until my birthday….

On this fourth day of being thankful, I am so pleased that I am creative and have an extraordinary imagination. It is the spark within me that doesn’t just see an empty box but a wardrobe for dolls clothes (today and 25 years ago). The clickety clack of my knitting needles is driven by the urge to create. The part of me that takes a boring word document and makes it pretty. It’s the love of putting words together in a story or a blog. An imagination that thrives on hanging out with my nieces and nephews telling stories and taking toys on adventures. An imagination that can see, dream and put it all together to create. I can draw, paint, devour novels, escape in a movie, knit, scrapbook, cross stitch, become lost in worship, daydream and many other crafts.

The urge to create walked me through years of art classes at school and then at Uni. I can paint, draw, collage and I’m quite good. (I need to get back to it!). Yet, the artistic temperament is a struggle, the sensitivity and feeling emotions on a more intense level than others can be overwhelming. But a friend once said to me, it is a gift that enables me to dream,  imagine, to see things and to create. I have slowly learnt to embrace the artist within. I stumbled across this quote today and it is a perfect picture of what the artistic temperament can be to live with:

“Artistic temperament sometimes seems a battleground, a dark angel of destruction and a bright angel of creativity wrestling.”
Madeleine L’Engle

I’m sure that other artists out there will love that quote!

Today I am thankful that my creator has wired me as an artist. I may lack the ability to be a ballerina but I can move people with words, pictures and handmade gifts.

Love,

Sara xoxox

To see more like this amazing quote picture go to: http://twistedsifter.com/2012/03/15-famous-quotes-on-creativity/

Leave a Reply

