10 Days Of Gratefulness: Day 1 – Change

When you pass through the waters, 
    I will be with you; 
and when you pass through the rivers,
    they will not sweep over you.
When you walk through the fire, 
    you will not be burned;
    the flames will not set you ablaze.

                                                         (Isaiah 43:2)

It’s 9 days to my birthday and this is something that I have mixed emotions about every year. Life events around this time of year over the years has caused me to look towards August with almost a dread feeling. “What’s gonna happen this year?” Then there’s the inner tumble of whether to do something or not – “is it going to be a let down, but it’s my birthday, I should be excited.”  Then there’s the whole single thing, if I want to do something then I have to organise it. Seems kind of selfish, throwing a party or activities for yourself. Yet it is often the one time a year that a single person get’s to celebrate something that is about them. Life goes along and others celebrate anniversaries, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day and other family/couple type things. For once, I’m not saying this to have a self pity party! Just telling it like it is.

Underneath all of this. I want to celebrate. I want to celebrate the day that I entered this world. I don’t want to be the centre of attention, as an introvert it’s actually the last thing I want! I just want to have some fun because it’s my birthday. I want to do my favourite things and share the fun with some people I love.

So it’s that time of year again. August. The countdown is on. This past 12-18 months has been a challenge and life has been an uphill climb. An uphill climb has meant that sadness and negativity has been a constant companion. The past few weeks I’ve started smiling again and actually seeing the amazing blessings in my life. To continue this positivity, to kick this blog along, to counteract the August Dread and above all to give thanks to Him that has given me everything, I’ve decided to do a little blog series. I’ve named it “10 Days of Gratefulness” (highly original and creative, I know! haha!) The 10 things won’t be in a particular order of importance, just what is on my mind that day.

Firstly, I am thankful for change. Strange I know, even I tend to struggle with it when it happens. Yet change excites me, it means things are moving to better places. I am thankful for current changes in my life. Change that means moving from a place of struggle to a place of contentment and even joy. Change that means ending cycles of the August Dread and creating a habit that is life giving.

Love,

Sara xoxox

One thought on “10 Days Of Gratefulness: Day 1 – Change

  1. Pingback: What Now? « Musings of a FlutterbyBear

Leave a Reply

