Random (?) Acts of Kindness

“No kind action ever stops with itself. One kind action leads to another. Good example is followed. A single act of kindness throws out roots in all directions, and the roots spring up and make new trees. The greatest work that kindness does to others is that it makes them kind themselves.” 

                                                                                                                       Amelia Earhart

I love a random act of kindness, especially if I’m on the receiving end. Admit it, we all love nice stuff being done for us. I also love to be on the giving end, to give or do something for someone that is just nice. The catch is, can I give of my time, energy, skills or gifts without any strings attached. Think about it. Most of the time we innocently love the warm fuzzy feeling that we get seeing another delighted. Sometimes it’s a plain old people pleasing act of wanting to be liked. Then there’s some that give simply to get something back in return.

This is something I think about a lot. But what’s sparked this blog storm of thinking for me is a radio station is conducting and initiative where listeners can register, perform random acts of kindness -handing a card to the recipient of the kind act. The recipient can then call the station and let them know of the kind act and the person who did the kind act will possibly be rewarded with a prize.

This is why I like it:

Action – it’s an initiative that is causing action in communities. There is a concrete and practical movement of good deeds happening around Melbourne and that is a good thing. Hopefully this will lead to long lasting change, people will continue to kindly act randomly.

Stories – I love stories. I’ve loved listening to the stories that people ring in with. Especially those where they’ve been giving of themselves continually to people. The stories where the random acts are actually a consistent behaviour, habit or regular part of their lifestyle.

It Involves EVERYONE – The station is listened to by mainly Christians but there are also listeners who are not believers. There are also non believers who are being touched by these acts and reporting them. Wow!

But. There’s always a but for me, ever questioning, ever musing. Something just doesn’t sit right. I overall love the initiative for the reasons above. But there’s an uneasiness…. Shouldn’t this be a part of our everyday life already? Clearly God tells us throughout the Bible to love one another, to love our neighbour, to live generous lives and to do it all without seeking to be seen. Then it get’s confusing for some of us because in Matthew 5:16 we’re to shine… “In the same way, let your light shine before others, that they may see your good deeds and glorify your Father in heaven.” The key here, is so that people will see the light of God in our deeds. That HE is to be glorified through our actions. 

Me, I want to be able to give unconditionally. It’s one of my life goals. It’s a tough one. I’d love to sign up and I thought about it. However, for me… it just doesn’t sit right to give kindly and then hope for the reward.  My housemates are amazing at the good deeds thing. Their example has inspired me to actually DO stuff that I often think about but don’t actually follow through on. I’m not perfect at all, I get caught up in the busy-ness at life but I am striving to be a better do-er than thinker.

My motives are still not always pure and at times selfish. Yet more and more my reward is in the giving, knowing that I’ve placed some of the Kingdom of God into this world. That by doing good and making people’s heart’s smile I am shining His light. A little bit of His sunshine seeps in when we give purely out of His love. THAT makes my heart smile. THAT makes my heart burst and believe it or not (for those that know me well, you’ll get how huge this is…) THAT is better than some movie tickets!!!

My final thoughts…

Thanks to the station for the continuing impact you have on our community of Melbourne. What you do is truly amazing.

For my fellow Christians and believers… JOIN IN THE FUN!!! Sign up to the station’s initiative! Be rewarded. Go for it!!! Use it as a catalyst to start a habit in your life that has lasting impact in the people around you.

Please feel free to comment, interact, shout at me (not literally please, I may just cry! Lol!)… but seriously, this is a conversation that I love to have 🙂

With love

Sara  xo

Leave a Reply

